Anope IRC Services

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Levels  (Read 8195 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

royteeuwen

  • Guest
Levels
« on: September 23, 2006, 10:09:20 PM »

Can it be made so that you can edit the default levels from /cs levels #chan list, This would be very handy if you could edit this somewhere. Or is this allready possible on some way
Logged

Jobe

  • Contributor
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 1023
    • Anope IRC Services
(No subject)
« Reply #1 on: September 23, 2006, 10:10:44 PM »

I also wouldnt mind seeing this feature in the future. As it gives Admins a lot more scope when setting up Anopes defaults for newly registered Channels.
Logged
Your IP: ()
My IRC Status:

Come along and visit http://www.anopequotes.org/

KyPPo

  • Guest
(No subject)
« Reply #2 on: November 19, 2006, 08:57:20 PM »

I agree, it would be lovely if this function could be implemented somehow.

Thanks in advance.
Logged

Jan Milants

  • Team
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 1372
(No subject)
« Reply #3 on: November 19, 2006, 10:15:47 PM »

hmmm i agree it could be usefull under some circumstances, but i would really hate it if each network started using their own values for commands making sop/aop/hop/vop differ from network to network.. right know i see it as one of the advantages since it s like a standard. if every net starts using their own values for everything it would be a hell to keep channels on different nets imho...
Logged
If you like me donate coins to 1FBmZVT4J8WAUMHKqpWhgNVj3XXnRN1cCk :)

Jobe

  • Contributor
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 1023
    • Anope IRC Services
(No subject)
« Reply #4 on: November 20, 2006, 01:19:54 AM »

Having default values doesnt mean you wont be able to set them to the values youre confortable with so you could still have you channel with exactly the same permissions on more then one net even if the defaults were different. It would just mean youd have to do more tweaking. But yeah i can see where youre coming from with your point as the average user would get used to it and expect it on other nets using the same services.

One thing to remember though is levels dont affect the way xOP works though so that would still be the same unless there was a way made for you you to set the levels that define the rights that the xOP lists give.
Logged
Your IP: ()
My IRC Status:

Come along and visit http://www.anopequotes.org/

Jan Milants

  • Team
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 1372
(No subject)
« Reply #5 on: November 20, 2006, 05:40:29 PM »

Quote
Originally posted by Jobe1986
One thing to remember though is levels dont affect the way xOP works though so that would still be the same unless there was a way made for you you to set the levels that define the rights that the xOP lists give.


actually as i understand it, it does... xOP is basically the same as the levels system, but it simply uses a default set of levels and default values for xOP

so if you change the default levels, it would also affect the levels used in xOP...
Logged
If you like me donate coins to 1FBmZVT4J8WAUMHKqpWhgNVj3XXnRN1cCk :)

Jobe

  • Contributor
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 1023
    • Anope IRC Services
(No subject)
« Reply #6 on: November 21, 2006, 10:09:10 AM »

Quote
Originally posted by Viper
actually as i understand it, it does... xOP is basically the same as the levels system, but it simply uses a default set of levels and default values for xOP

so if you change the default levels, it would also affect the levels used in xOP...


Not if you had a seperate set of default levels for xOP that couldnt be changed.
Logged
Your IP: ()
My IRC Status:

Come along and visit http://www.anopequotes.org/

SpaceDoG

  • Anope User
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 183
    • http://www.hypermutt.net
(No subject)
« Reply #7 on: November 21, 2006, 03:18:42 PM »

Couldn't it also be setup so that if you're using CSDefAccess (or something similar turning xOP off) it is the only way that you could edit the default levels? That would mean that all new channels would use the access list format instead of xOP thereby keeping the servers that use xOP as default at the default anope levels?
Logged

SNU

  • Anope User
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 158
    • http://www.firstclassirc.com
(No subject)
« Reply #8 on: November 29, 2006, 08:57:01 PM »

Uh?
Cant you do /cs levels set <#chan> <levelname> <levelnumber> ?
Isnt it what you want to do?
Logged

Jobe

  • Contributor
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 1023
    • Anope IRC Services
(No subject)
« Reply #9 on: November 30, 2006, 01:08:00 PM »

SNU the request was for the ability to set the levels that new channels get not exisiting channels.
Logged
Your IP: ()
My IRC Status:

Come along and visit http://www.anopequotes.org/

royteeuwen

  • Guest
(No subject)
« Reply #10 on: November 30, 2006, 06:47:21 PM »

yep jobe, thats the request :p
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up