Anope IRC Services

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: [win32] Problems with anope/unreal32  (Read 9604 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

VolTekka

  • Guest
[win32] Problems with anope/unreal32
« on: July 13, 2006, 07:38:05 PM »

I've been reading this forum for quite a while, but no dice for any of the proposed solutions thusfar.

My error is as follows:

[Jul 13 14:28:02 2006] Loading IRCD Protocol Module: [unreal32]
[Jul 13 14:28:02 2006] The specified module could not be found.


[Jul 13 14:28:02 2006] status: [6][Module Error, Error during load time or module returned MOD_STOP]


I'm currently running the following:

Windows XP Professional - Service Pack 2
.NET Framework 1.1
-Firewall OFF
-AntiVirus OFF
-Realtime Scanner OFF

Anope 1.7.14.1023
UnrealIRCD 3.2.5.


I have checked my MSVCR71.dll; it is appropriately placed and there is only one copy - from the 1.1 installation of the .NET framework.

I have tried running with -debug and -nofork, but, just as with starting up normally, it does absolutely nothing except give me the error posted above in /data/logs.


I have not seen this problem thoroughly addressed (probably because of the lack of those on windows running Anope), and those that have been addressed, either did not share the same problem, never resolved their issue, or had a different problem present.

I appreciate any support given; thank you for your time and efforts.

(And yes, I have confirmed that unreal32 is in /modules.)

~VolTekka
Logged

SpaceDoG

  • Anope User
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 183
    • http://www.hypermutt.net
(No subject)
« Reply #1 on: July 13, 2006, 08:16:26 PM »

Have you read http://forum.anope.org/viewthread.php?tid=36? If I'm not mistaken the problem is addressed and corrected in that thread.

[Edited on 13-7-2006 by SpaceDoG]
Logged

Charles Kingsley

  • Contributor
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1405
(No subject)
« Reply #2 on: July 13, 2006, 09:21:16 PM »

Honesty time, is your copy of windows legal? :)
Logged

VolTekka

  • Guest
(No subject)
« Reply #3 on: July 14, 2006, 04:02:25 AM »

Yes I've read that thread; no, it does not solve the problem. I mentioned earlier I have checked the DLL and have .NET Framework 1.1 installed. Nothing mentioned thusfar has helped or even changed the error I recieve in my log.

chaz - I really do not see what bearing that would have on the situation at hand.

Thank you both for your time. The problem still persists.

~VolTekka
Logged

Dave Robson

  • Team
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 357
(No subject)
« Reply #4 on: July 14, 2006, 08:34:26 AM »

The easiest way to sort this is probablly to compile it yourself, is that an option?

( since if its compiled on your machine, it will be happy runnig there too )
Logged

Charles Kingsley

  • Contributor
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1405
(No subject)
« Reply #5 on: July 14, 2006, 08:58:55 AM »

Quote
chaz - I really do not see what bearing that would have on the situation at hand.


Funnily enough, you would be surprised. I have seen this occur more on illegal copies of windows. I was after ascertaining whether because the user is operating an illegal copy, they perhaps are missing WGA protected updates which could cause it, and ultimately be wasting our time.

[Edited on 14-7-2006 by chaz]
Logged

heinz

  • Guest
(No subject)
« Reply #6 on: July 14, 2006, 04:08:19 PM »

Not only that, but using pirated software is illegal, and we cannot condone the use of it. Whether the problem is related to the legal status of Windows, I cannot be sure, but the instances we have seen so far would suggest so.

Not only that, but myself, and chaz along with lots of other users have purchased XP or other Microsoft software to get Anope running on Windows. It breaks our hearts when we see people taking a 'free ride' when we ourselves have contributed to Microsoft's pockets.

If you can get a legal copy of XP, and find the problem still exists, we'll be more than happy to take a look, as it's probably an XP-related issue rather than an Anope issue.

</rant>
Logged

Charles Kingsley

  • Contributor
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1405
(No subject)
« Reply #7 on: July 14, 2006, 04:09:49 PM »

We might have purchased it, don't bloody well mean I use it.
Logged

VolTekka

  • Guest
(No subject)
« Reply #8 on: July 14, 2006, 06:46:02 PM »

Compiling it for myself is definitely an option. I'll give it some consideration.

And no,  I don't think theres any WGA protected updates I need in particular.

I'll try compiling it myself I suppose; hopefully I won't run into any problems there. Anyhow, thanks for the suggestions thusfar, I appreciate it. I'll get back to you with how my attempt to compile it myself went. =P

Thank you for your time.

~Ether



--UPDATE
misc.c(1228) : error C2065: 'VER_SUITE_COMPUTE_SERVER' : undeclared identifier
NMAKE : fatal error U1077: 'cl' : return code '0x2'
Stop.
NMAKE : fatal error U1077: 'cd' : return code '0x2'
Stop.

Looking up to see what these errors are... get back to you all or if I haven't figured it out by the time you're here, input is appreciated...

----UPDATE 2

Looking at the source (thank god it's in C/C++; the language im most familiar with), it seems that this could all stem off of the undeclared identifier VER_SUITE_COMPUTE_SERVER. This constant relates to a version my system should never return (I don't think), so it may be safe to remove this else if clause. I'll try that.

Be right back...


----UPDATE 3
After removing this statement, the code has compiled successfully. Now to see if it works at all.


---Reluctant UPDATE 4

Aaaand after that, we're back to the original error:

[Jul 14 14:24:58 2006] Loading IRCD Protocol Module: [unreal32]
[Jul 14 14:24:58 2006] The specified module could not be found.


[Jul 14 14:24:58 2006] status: [6][Module Error, Error during load time or module returned MOD_STOP]


So compiling it myself didn't help. It was a nice try though, and a learning experience =P.

Thank you for your time.

~Ether
[Edited on 14-7-2006 by VolTekka]

[Edited on 14-7-2006 by VolTekka]

[Edited on 14-7-2006 by VolTekka]

[Edited on 14-7-2006 by VolTekka]

[Edited on 14-7-2006 by VolTekka]
Logged

Tom65789

  • Anope User
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 343
    • www.t65789.co.uk
(No subject)
« Reply #9 on: July 14, 2006, 07:26:23 PM »

thats a config error..... make sure the line is uncommented as in remove the #

[Edited on 14-7-2006 by Tom65789]

VolTekka

  • Guest
(No subject)
« Reply #10 on: July 14, 2006, 08:06:07 PM »

It'd help if you explain what you meant. There are craploads of commented lines in the config file.


~Ether
Logged

Tom65789

  • Anope User
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 343
    • www.t65789.co.uk
(No subject)
« Reply #11 on: July 15, 2006, 06:19:18 PM »

#IRCDModule "unreal32"

make that

IRCDModule "unreal32"

katsklaw

  • Guest
(No subject)
« Reply #12 on: July 15, 2006, 10:01:21 PM »

tom65789, it is that way hence the "[Jul 14 14:24:58 2006] Loading IRCD Protocol Module: [unreal32]" message. Then problem is the next line. "[Jul 14 14:24:58 2006] The specified module could not be found."
Logged

Tom65789

  • Anope User
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 343
    • www.t65789.co.uk
(No subject)
« Reply #13 on: July 16, 2006, 12:57:12 AM »

/me slaps self

i shouldnt have tried helping when i was hungover XD, so yeah sorry lol

Charles Kingsley

  • Contributor
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1405
(No subject)
« Reply #14 on: July 16, 2006, 09:24:34 AM »

Looks like the same problem exists even when you compile it yourself. I stand by my comment of illegal windows + not all updates or something ........ Works for me on my legit copy, perhaps I should try a dodgy copy .. but then no, I wouldn't have anything like that ;)
Logged

heinz

  • Guest
(No subject)
« Reply #15 on: July 16, 2006, 02:55:40 PM »

You could always try searching your hard drive for all copies of MSVCR71.dll, and deleting all but the latest version.

You could also plonk a copy of the latest MSVCR71.dll into c:\windows\system32 (or another directory in PATH) for good luck.
Logged

VolTekka

  • Guest
(No subject)
« Reply #16 on: July 29, 2006, 12:34:09 PM »

This error has been solved with a post that came a little while ago (after the creation of this thread).

Thank you for your input.

Now I just have a ton of OTHER errors to work through. I may post again either in this thread or another if I have trouble with those and can't figure tham out.

Thanks,

~Ether
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up