Anope IRC Services

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Anope 1.9.1, "FATAL: DB Nick.db is too old"  (Read 7727 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

czar

  • Anope User
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
    • @czarphanguye
Anope 1.9.1, "FATAL: DB Nick.db is too old"
« on: December 05, 2009, 11:54:45 AM »

Good day,

My anope suddently quit working w/ the following message when running
Code: [Select]
./services -debug -nofork
Code: [Select]
[Dec 05 06:52:34.448451 2009] [hs_request] Succesfully loaded database
[Dec 05 06:52:34.448464 2009] debug: hs_request Adding 21 texts for language 0
[Dec 05 06:52:34.448478 2009] debug: hs_request Adding 21 texts for language 12
[Dec 05 06:52:34.448495 2009] debug: hs_request Adding 21 texts for language 5
[Dec 05 06:52:34.448509 2009] debug: hs_request Adding 21 texts for language 13
[Dec 05 06:52:34.448524 2009] debug: hs_request Adding 21 texts for language 8
[Dec 05 06:52:34.448539 2009] Module hs_request compiled against current version of Anope 2558
[Dec 05 06:52:34.448598 2009] Error reading version number on nick.db: End of file detected
[Dec 05 06:52:34.448615 2009] FATAL: DB nick.db is too old
[Dec 05 06:52:34.448627 2009] debug: Cleaning out Module run time directory (/home/czar/bin/anope/data/modules/runtime) - this may take a moment please wait
[Dec 05 06:52:34.449435 2009] debug: Module run time directory has been cleaned out

Notes; I did not upgrade anope and it was working just fine for a few weeks then this... Tried to reinstall and that did not help either.
« Last Edit: December 05, 2009, 11:58:57 AM by czar »
Logged

Naram Qashat

  • Team
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 192
    • CBX's Sprite Animations
Re: Anope 1.9.1, "FATAL: DB Nick.db is too old"
« Reply #1 on: December 05, 2009, 03:52:24 PM »

Then your nick.db probably got corrupted somewhere along the way.  Restore a backup.

And before you start complaining about that, keep in mind that 1.9.x is developmental, there has never been and will never been any guarantee that it will work flawlessly.
Logged

czar

  • Anope User
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
    • @czarphanguye
Re: Anope 1.9.1, "FATAL: DB Nick.db is too old"
« Reply #2 on: December 05, 2009, 03:55:33 PM »

Then your nick.db probably got corrupted somewhere along the way.  Restore a backup.

And before you start complaining about that, keep in mind that 1.9.x is developmental, there has never been and will never been any guarantee that it will work flawlessly.

I don't have a backup, can I just delete nick.db and start over?  anything special I gotta do to recreate it?

Yes, I know it's developmental and why would you assume I'd complain?  I'm just testing it out and atm I'm the only one that even registered my nick, so no big deal....  Shessh.

Anything I can submit to aid in the resolve of this 'corruption'?   
« Last Edit: December 05, 2009, 03:57:49 PM by czar »
Logged

Jan Milants

  • Team
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 1372
Re: Anope 1.9.1, "FATAL: DB Nick.db is too old"
« Reply #3 on: December 05, 2009, 03:58:19 PM »

not really because the entire current database system will be removed and redone..
and most people complain if something breaks, even though they know it s devel, that s why he assumed that...

just remove the .db files and anope ll create new ones..
btw anope automatically creates backups every 24hrs in the backups dir.
Logged
If you like me donate coins to 1FBmZVT4J8WAUMHKqpWhgNVj3XXnRN1cCk :)

Naram Qashat

  • Team
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 192
    • CBX's Sprite Animations
Re: Anope 1.9.1, "FATAL: DB Nick.db is too old"
« Reply #4 on: December 05, 2009, 03:58:28 PM »

Only way I could think of is if we could get a copy of your corrupted nick.db, but first, you could check the file size.  If it's something like 0, then somehow it got cleared out.  You could delete it and start over with no nicks and that'll be fine.

I was only being preemptive when I mentioned the complaining, I wasn't assuming you were going to complain, but there are people out there who probably would've done so, even though it is the dev branch.
Logged

czar

  • Anope User
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
    • @czarphanguye
Re: Anope 1.9.1, "FATAL: DB Nick.db is too old"
« Reply #5 on: December 05, 2009, 04:04:22 PM »

btw anope automatically creates backups every 24hrs in the backups dir.

Perfect, found the back-ups.  Thank you.

Only way I could think of is if we could get a copy of your corrupted nick.db, but first, you could check the file size.  If it's something like 0, then somehow it got cleared out.  You could delete it and start over with no nicks and that'll be fine.

Your right, everything has been cleared out. 

Code: [Select]
czar@kremlin:~/bin/anope/data/backups$ ls -lah ../*.db
-rw-rw---- 1 czar czar    0 2009-12-03 02:18 ../bot.db
-rw-rw---- 1 czar czar    0 2009-12-03 02:18 ../chan.db
-rw-rw---- 1 czar czar    0 2009-12-03 02:18 ../exception.db
-rw-rw---- 1 czar czar    0 2009-12-03 02:18 ../hosts.db
-rw-rw---- 1 czar czar    0 2009-12-03 02:18 ../hs_request.db
-rw-rw---- 1 czar czar    0 2009-12-03 02:18 ../news.db
-rw-r----- 1 czar czar     0 2009-12-05 11:02 ../nick.db
-rw-rw---- 1 czar czar    0 2009-12-03 02:18 ../oper.db
-rw-rw---- 1 czar czar    0 2009-12-03 02:18 ../os_info.db
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up