Anope IRC Services

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: vhost help  (Read 6392 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

woodsier

  • Anope User
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 24
vhost help
« on: May 10, 2009, 03:38:15 PM »

Hi guys. I've been testing a bot I've made and I setup a vhost for it (bot.mywebsite.org). It works fine, my bot identifies upon starting up, it inherits the new vhost and joins my channel as bot!bot@bot.mywebsite.org etc and all is well. however, when i place the bot on my server (it's coded in perl) it still identifies (I check in the log), but it doesn't take on its vhost. Why is this?

I kind of would prefer it did.
« Last Edit: May 10, 2009, 03:42:49 PM by woodsier »
Logged

woodsier

  • Anope User
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 24
Re: vhost help
« Reply #1 on: May 11, 2009, 03:42:06 PM »

Is anyone able to help me?
Logged

mooncup

  • Contributor
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 65
Re: vhost help
« Reply #2 on: May 11, 2009, 03:46:36 PM »

It identifies to the same nick on the same set of services?
Logged

ShawnSmith

  • Anope User
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 46
Re: vhost help
« Reply #3 on: May 11, 2009, 08:21:41 PM »

however, when i place the bot on my server
Sounds like you're trying to get a vhost on two different networks.
Logged

woodsier

  • Anope User
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 24
Re: vhost help
« Reply #4 on: May 13, 2009, 10:11:24 AM »

No sorry maybe I wasnt clear.

I have a dedicated server. This hosts my IRC Network and my services. This is the ONLY server that runs the IRC network, there's no other servers. I also use this server for my forums.

I coded the bot on my home computer in perl. I setup a registered nick for it, and setup the vhost for the nick. I run the perl script from my home computer and it automatically identifies and joins a channel. When it joins it has its vhost. Perfect.

I then put the perl bot on my dedicated server, the same server that the IRC network has been hosted on. Now when I run the perl script. It identifies (as I can see in the output to my log channel), joins the channel, however does not seem to have the vhost working.

What do you suggest I do? Is there a way to reset/re-enforce vhosts?
Logged

Jan Milants

  • Team
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 1372
Re: vhost help
« Reply #5 on: May 13, 2009, 01:51:49 PM »

try having it send /HostServ ON..
Logged
If you like me donate coins to 1FBmZVT4J8WAUMHKqpWhgNVj3XXnRN1cCk :)
Pages: [1]   Go Up