Anope IRC Services

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: register the "#" channel  (Read 11310 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

BlackDragon

  • Anope User
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 44
  • Hellenic Administrator
    • Hellenic
register the "#" channel
« on: January 10, 2007, 01:39:20 PM »

Greetings From Greece,

I like your BIG work on the services thing and applaud you. Many thanks to all your team members who "kill theirselves in work"!!! I was wandering if anyone could tell me HOW am i gonna register this channel ( " # " ) ? It says, it can't be registered and i want desperately to be able to register it :'(
Can anyone help me, please? :(

Many thanks in advance...!
Logged

Jan Milants

  • Team
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 1372
(No subject)
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2007, 02:11:12 PM »

almost impossible since this is a restriction checked for almost everywhere in the core, no module can help that...
Logged
If you like me donate coins to 1FBmZVT4J8WAUMHKqpWhgNVj3XXnRN1cCk :)

BlackDragon

  • Anope User
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 44
  • Hellenic Administrator
    • Hellenic
(No subject)
« Reply #2 on: January 10, 2007, 02:30:15 PM »

but why? :'(
can't we do something about that? not in one in a million ? :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'(

[Edited on 10/1/2007 by BlackDragon]
Logged

Trystan Scott Lee

  • Contributor
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 343
(No subject)
« Reply #3 on: January 10, 2007, 04:49:22 PM »

Viper you are incorrect, a the # is trapped down in cs_register now, a custom mod of that could be made to allow # to be registered.

It is disallowed due to # is a html special character and thus interfers with web interfaces.
Logged
my God my tourniquet, return to me salvation

BlackDragon

  • Anope User
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 44
  • Hellenic Administrator
    • Hellenic
(No subject)
« Reply #4 on: January 10, 2007, 04:52:40 PM »

so, with the proper module, it could become able to register the " # " channel....

right...... is there any module created yet for that reason or can anyone make it?

thanks again....

[Edited on 10/1/2007 by BlackDragon]
Logged

Jan Milants

  • Team
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 1372
(No subject)
« Reply #5 on: January 10, 2007, 05:37:04 PM »

hmmm so anope_valid_chan() doesn't filter # ?

in that case yeh it s possible... and relatively easy to accomplish..

[Edited on 10-1-2007 by Viper]
Logged
If you like me donate coins to 1FBmZVT4J8WAUMHKqpWhgNVj3XXnRN1cCk :)

Pieter Bootsma

  • Team
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 189
    • http://geniusdex.net/
(No subject)
« Reply #6 on: January 10, 2007, 06:09:17 PM »

It's not registerable because various core functions of Anope and a number of IRCd's and clients had issues with the channel # if i recall correctly. It has nothing to do with it being a HTML special character or anything.
Logged

Trystan Scott Lee

  • Contributor
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 343
(No subject)
« Reply #7 on: January 10, 2007, 06:57:22 PM »

oddily enough I had a conversation with dengle about this and how # would mess things up with phpanope, moments later Certus or Dengle commited the change

     } else if (!stricmp(chan, "#")) {
        notice_lang(s_ChanServ, u, CHAN_MAY_NOT_BE_REGISTERED, chan);

there is the one line i cs_register that cares about it being only #

anope_valid_chan() was added to fix a bug generated by unreal that some channels can not be registered, thus it checks to make sure that its not one of those
Logged
my God my tourniquet, return to me salvation

BlackDragon

  • Anope User
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 44
  • Hellenic Administrator
    • Hellenic
(No subject)
« Reply #8 on: January 10, 2007, 11:43:26 PM »

so, Trystan, you say that it is possible to register it by altering the core or something, GeniusDex (Anope Developer ) says that it is impossible to do it, to alter the core....
ok, now who am i supposed to believe? :P

[Edited on 11/1/2007 by BlackDragon]

[Edited on 11/1/2007 by BlackDragon]
Logged

Trystan Scott Lee

  • Contributor
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 343
(No subject)
« Reply #9 on: January 11, 2007, 01:30:29 AM »

as a former Anope developer I can tell you that if you copy cs_register.c from core and rename it, to say.. cs_register_special.c and find the line where the thing checks for the channel name being only # it will work.

There are NO other checks in the core code for # being there, so just don't load anope's default cs_register and load your cs_register_special and there you go you can now register channels that are only #
Logged
my God my tourniquet, return to me salvation

BlackDragon

  • Anope User
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 44
  • Hellenic Administrator
    • Hellenic
(No subject)
« Reply #10 on: January 11, 2007, 02:40:16 AM »

ok found the cs_register.c in the core folder, i found the line....
what should i do with it ? just comment out the line ?
Logged

BlackDragon

  • Anope User
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 44
  • Hellenic Administrator
    • Hellenic
(No subject)
« Reply #11 on: January 11, 2007, 02:41:19 AM »

this one

Code: [Select]

    } else if (!stricmp(chan, "#")) {
        notice_lang(s_ChanServ, u, CHAN_MAY_NOT_BE_REGISTERED, chan);
Logged

n00bie

  • Anope User
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 411
(No subject)
« Reply #12 on: January 11, 2007, 02:48:30 AM »

comment the line stating:
else if (!stricmp(chan, "#")) {
        notice_lang(s_ChanServ, u, CHAN_MAY_NOT_BE_REGISTERED, chan);
    }

next, you will need to unload the core "cs_register" module, after that load your module "cs_register_special" or whatever you named it. *bingo*
Logged
I am always doing things that which I cannot do, in order that I may learn how to do it.

BlackDragon

  • Anope User
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 44
  • Hellenic Administrator
    • Hellenic
(No subject)
« Reply #13 on: January 11, 2007, 02:49:48 AM »

well... i'll go try it and if it success, i'll let you know ;)
Logged

n00bie

  • Anope User
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 411
(No subject)
« Reply #14 on: January 11, 2007, 02:51:34 AM »

well, i've just tested that on 1.7.18, works fine. Thats why i posted your reply.
Logged
I am always doing things that which I cannot do, in order that I may learn how to do it.

BlackDragon

  • Anope User
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 44
  • Hellenic Administrator
    • Hellenic
(No subject)
« Reply #15 on: January 11, 2007, 02:55:32 AM »

it worked indeed :D thank you very much :D
but as soon as i started the services i got this error msg :/
Code: [Select]

[BlackDragon@enigma services]$ ./services
services.conf:145: Warning: unterminated double-quoted string
services.conf:146: Warning: too many parameters (8 max)
[BlackDragon@enigma services]$
Logged

BlackDragon

  • Anope User
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 44
  • Hellenic Administrator
    • Hellenic
(No subject)
« Reply #16 on: January 11, 2007, 02:56:32 AM »

daaaahhh nevermind it's probably my fault... i'll check it
Logged

BlackDragon

  • Anope User
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 44
  • Hellenic Administrator
    • Hellenic
(No subject)
« Reply #17 on: January 11, 2007, 02:58:03 AM »

hooraaaaaaaay
everything works fine
THANKS A LOT GUYS! YOU'RE THE BEST ;)
Logged

BlackDragon

  • Anope User
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 44
  • Hellenic Administrator
    • Hellenic
(No subject)
« Reply #18 on: January 11, 2007, 03:00:17 AM »

huh? wait a minute.... i registered the " # " channel and after a restart of the services the channel got expired.... why ? :'(
Logged

BlackDragon

  • Anope User
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 44
  • Hellenic Administrator
    • Hellenic
(No subject)
« Reply #19 on: January 11, 2007, 03:03:04 AM »

oopsie :/ forgive me for the spam ( post flood ).....
it is ok after all ( i think so .... ) , i re-registered the channel then sevices restart and the channel is still registered... don't know why was expired the first time .... weird..

[Edited on 11/1/2007 by BlackDragon]
Logged

n00bie

  • Anope User
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 411
(No subject)
« Reply #20 on: January 11, 2007, 03:03:07 AM »

hmm... i drop the channel, re-registered it again, restart services; but it works fine for me :?
Logged
I am always doing things that which I cannot do, in order that I may learn how to do it.
Pages: [1]   Go Up