Anope IRC Services

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Adding HostSetters w/o Shell Access  (Read 9059 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Emeric

  • Anope User
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
Adding HostSetters w/o Shell Access
« on: December 01, 2006, 05:38:02 PM »

It'd be nice if it would be possible to remove the HostSetters directive from the anope configuration file then make it so you can add HostSetters via OperServ commands like you do services admins and opers. (ie. /msg OperServ HOSTSETTER ADD ...). Then you can just store HostSetters in the db files like services admin and opers. A directive would also be nice though to determine who could add HostSetters. (ie. 1=IRCops, 2=Services Opers, 3=Services Admins, 4=Services Root).

Just a thought.
Logged

Jobe

  • Contributor
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 1023
    • Anope IRC Services
(No subject)
« Reply #1 on: December 01, 2006, 08:42:28 PM »

Actually i think this isn't that bad an idea.
Logged
Your IP: ()
My IRC Status:

Come along and visit http://www.anopequotes.org/

Trystan Scott Lee

  • Contributor
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 343
(No subject)
« Reply #2 on: December 01, 2006, 11:20:04 PM »

This can be done in a module..

Also is remotely like the old idea of oper flags... (runs and hides)
Logged
my God my tourniquet, return to me salvation

katsklaw

  • Guest
(No subject)
« Reply #3 on: December 01, 2006, 11:58:26 PM »

oper flags is one feature that has been tabled for discussion for 1.9.

The only way to get this before 1.9 is a module since we are still under a feature freeze for the upcoming 1.8 release.
Logged

Emeric

  • Anope User
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
(No subject)
« Reply #4 on: February 07, 2007, 07:24:28 PM »

I wasn't actually thinking oper flags, just to have that level of access addable via commands like Services Admins and Services Opers are, which I don't think oper flags are used for those two things right now.

[Edited on 7-2-2007 by Emeric]
Logged

SNU

  • Anope User
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 158
    • http://www.firstclassirc.com
(No subject)
« Reply #5 on: February 08, 2007, 05:46:31 PM »

Yeah I second that hostsetters - idea! should be "cored" :D
Logged

Emeric

  • Anope User
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
Re: Adding HostSetters w/o Shell Access
« Reply #6 on: November 17, 2008, 06:30:17 AM »

Thought I'd bump this up, maybe it could be an idea included in the 1.9 branch.
Logged

Charles Kingsley

  • Contributor
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1405
Re: Adding HostSetters w/o Shell Access
« Reply #7 on: November 17, 2008, 06:37:02 AM »

Noted.
Logged

SNU

  • Anope User
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 158
    • http://www.firstclassirc.com
Re: Adding HostSetters w/o Shell Access
« Reply #8 on: November 17, 2008, 07:25:21 PM »

Yeah I must second that. I see no sense why you can set opers by operserv but the very less privilegued hostsetters by configfile.
Maybe to be more logical command I'd prefer: "/hs hostsetter [add|del|clear] [nick]" but only services root is allowed to do.
Logged

deiks

  • Anope User
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 139
  • Shizle my nizle
Re: Adding HostSetters w/o Shell Access
« Reply #9 on: November 17, 2008, 10:32:15 PM »

Yeah, but HostSetters in services.conf are for nicks who aren't opered :)
Even Opers at Staff list can add host if they're opered
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up