Anope IRC Services

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: 1.9 PANIC buffer help  (Read 15139 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

T-rexke

  • Guest
1.9 PANIC buffer help
« on: February 14, 2009, 06:35:00 PM »

hey i got this from the latest build

Code: [Select]
-xxx.xxx.xxx- *** Global -- from xxx.xxx.xxx: PANIC! buffer = SERVER xxx.xxx.xxx 1 :U2309-FinWXeOoZE-25 xxx Server-
Logged

Charles Kingsley

  • Contributor
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1405
Re: 1.9 PANIC buffer help
« Reply #1 on: February 14, 2009, 06:48:14 PM »

Can you provide some useful information such as how you did it?
Logged

T-rexke

  • Guest
Re: 1.9 PANIC buffer help
« Reply #2 on: February 14, 2009, 06:50:58 PM »

uhm did what i just compiled and instalt and when i start anope.exe it connects but directly quits with that message and ah signal 11 or something

im on windows vista ultimate
Logged

Charles Kingsley

  • Contributor
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1405
Re: 1.9 PANIC buffer help
« Reply #3 on: February 14, 2009, 09:33:23 PM »

Define latest build, we commit several changes per day.

Logged

T-rexke

  • Guest
Re: 1.9 PANIC buffer help
« Reply #4 on: February 14, 2009, 09:35:34 PM »

so your saying i have to download svn? and use that one? :)

i have 1.9.0.0-realeased
Logged

Charles Kingsley

  • Contributor
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1405
Re: 1.9 PANIC buffer help
« Reply #5 on: February 14, 2009, 09:36:31 PM »

No, I'm asking which version you're using as you said "latest build" so I don't know whether that means latest as in 1.9.0 which we released, or actual latest from SVN.
Logged

T-rexke

  • Guest
Re: 1.9 PANIC buffer help
« Reply #6 on: February 14, 2009, 09:38:38 PM »

yes its the 1.9.0 build you relaeased
Logged

katsklaw

  • Guest
Re: 1.9 PANIC buffer help
« Reply #7 on: February 15, 2009, 12:54:28 AM »

signal 11 is a memory allocation error and usually you are out of memory.
Logged

Charles Kingsley

  • Contributor
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1405
Re: 1.9 PANIC buffer help
« Reply #8 on: February 15, 2009, 09:20:03 AM »

This is interesting, I can't understand why you're getting a segfault on launch.

Can you confirm you have uline's in place etc? - (A copy of your unrealircd.conf and services.conf would help us here.)
Logged

T-rexke

  • Guest
Re: 1.9 PANIC buffer help
« Reply #9 on: February 15, 2009, 11:52:45 AM »

yes i can confirm for a 100% that the ulines are in place

Logged

Naram Qashat

  • Team
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 192
    • CBX's Sprite Animations
Re: 1.9 PANIC buffer help
« Reply #10 on: February 15, 2009, 05:13:44 PM »

Which IRCd are you linking to?  Also, do you have a full log, and could you possibly run anope.exe with -debug for us?
Logged

T-rexke

  • Guest
Re: 1.9 PANIC buffer help
« Reply #11 on: February 15, 2009, 05:35:33 PM »

im linking to Unrealircd 3.2.7 and how to run anope in debug mode again sort of forgot it :) :$
Logged

Charles Kingsley

  • Contributor
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1405
Re: 1.9 PANIC buffer help
« Reply #12 on: February 15, 2009, 05:43:47 PM »

In your start menu there should be an Anope menu with an Advanced submenu, have a look in there for the debug options.

(Not tested this on Vista so can't recall!)
Logged

T-rexke

  • Guest
Re: 1.9 PANIC buffer help
« Reply #13 on: February 15, 2009, 05:52:05 PM »

nope isnt there its compiled without debug srry didnt mention that
Logged

Charles Kingsley

  • Contributor
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1405
Re: 1.9 PANIC buffer help
« Reply #14 on: February 15, 2009, 06:03:17 PM »

For now, open a command prompt and run

Quote
anope.exe -debug

Then paste your services.log.date into a paste bin and link to it here.
Logged

T-rexke

  • Guest
Re: 1.9 PANIC buffer help
« Reply #15 on: February 15, 2009, 06:07:53 PM »

i cant run it that way it says its not a internal or external command
Logged

Charles Kingsley

  • Contributor
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1405
Re: 1.9 PANIC buffer help
« Reply #16 on: February 15, 2009, 06:28:14 PM »

Perhaps I should have been more clearer, did you cd to the installation directory of anope first?
Logged

T-rexke

  • Guest
Re: 1.9 PANIC buffer help
« Reply #17 on: February 15, 2009, 06:41:37 PM »

Logged

Charles Kingsley

  • Contributor
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1405
Re: 1.9 PANIC buffer help
« Reply #18 on: February 15, 2009, 07:12:38 PM »

Can I see your services.conf and unrealircd.conf please?
Logged

T-rexke

  • Guest
Re: 1.9 PANIC buffer help
« Reply #19 on: February 15, 2009, 07:19:02 PM »

i PMed it
Logged

Charles Kingsley

  • Contributor
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1405
Re: 1.9 PANIC buffer help
« Reply #20 on: February 16, 2009, 06:11:54 PM »

I don't really see anything in there to indicate why it's failing.

Think I'll need to find a copy of vista ultimate to try and replicate on.
Logged

T-rexke

  • Guest
Re: 1.9 PANIC buffer help
« Reply #21 on: February 16, 2009, 06:15:45 PM »

yeah its strange i really dont know whats happening i know a bit about anope but this i didnt have before so:)
Logged

Chenzw

  • Anope User
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
Re: 1.9 PANIC buffer help
« Reply #22 on: February 28, 2009, 10:41:16 AM »

According to the log, services is connecting to port 6667. The program also receives the "Looking up your hostname" message. Seems to be connecting to a port meant for clients. The configuration has to be changed.
Logged

Charles Kingsley

  • Contributor
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1405
Re: 1.9 PANIC buffer help
« Reply #23 on: February 28, 2009, 10:46:30 AM »

The user sent me his config which showed 6667 as having no particular orientation for client/server.
Logged

Chenzw

  • Anope User
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
Re: 1.9 PANIC buffer help
« Reply #24 on: February 28, 2009, 10:49:36 AM »

But services receives the "Looking up your hostname" message. It suggests that this is a client port.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2   Go Up