Anope IRC Services

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: 1.7.16 Connection Error (Resolved, OP's Firewall).  (Read 5037 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

SpaceDoG

  • Anope User
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 183
    • http://www.hypermutt.net
1.7.16 Connection Error (Resolved, OP's Firewall).
« on: October 10, 2006, 10:43:26 PM »

Debian startup issue

Ok I initially thought the problem was with my firewall but after letting it run for 10 minutes I still no connection out put from anope 1.7.16...

[Oct 11 05:31:38.392129 2006] Info: Reflecting database records.
[Oct 11 05:31:38.392145 2006] debug: Emitting event "db_saving" (1 args)
[Oct 11 05:31:38.392161 2006] debug: Saving FFF databases
[Oct 11 05:31:38.392682 2006] debug: Emitting event "db_saving" (1 args)
[Oct 11 05:31:38.392701 2006] debug: Emitting event "connect" (1 args)
[Oct 11 05:31:59.547697 2006] debug: Emitting event "signal" (1 args)

any thoughts?

[Edited on 11-10-2006 by chaz]
Logged

SpaceDoG

  • Anope User
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 183
    • http://www.hypermutt.net
(No subject)
« Reply #1 on: October 10, 2006, 10:43:44 PM »

wait I just saw 'connection timed out'
Logged

SpaceDoG

  • Anope User
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 183
    • http://www.hypermutt.net
(No subject)
« Reply #2 on: October 11, 2006, 01:38:45 AM »

nm it was a firewall issue... gotta figure out a way to determine exactly what ports anope is trying to open so I can configure those correctly...
Logged

Charles Kingsley

  • Contributor
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1405
(No subject)
« Reply #3 on: October 11, 2006, 08:02:31 AM »

Next time, please use a more sensible subject than the version number. I'm amending it.
Logged

Jobe

  • Contributor
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 1023
    • Anope IRC Services
(No subject)
« Reply #4 on: October 11, 2006, 01:18:51 PM »

SpaceDoG you could always use the "LocalAddress   nowhere. 0" parameter to specify which port you want Anope to bind to. That way you dont need to open up a range of ports on your firewall and instead only need to open up the one which you specify.
Logged
Your IP: ()
My IRC Status:

Come along and visit http://www.anopequotes.org/

SpaceDoG

  • Anope User
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 183
    • http://www.hypermutt.net
(No subject)
« Reply #5 on: October 11, 2006, 03:43:18 PM »

Yea I did just that... had to open up the port anope connects from because the IRCd uses it to send info to anope on. Once I did that I closed up all other ports and everything works hunky dory.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up