Anope IRC Services

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Questions about making an IRC Service  (Read 10433 times)

aeon

• Anope User
Questions about making an IRC Service
« on: May 01, 2013, 09:39:44 AM »

While I'm not a pro programmer, I can do C#,Java,c++. I am not an elite person for the job so please do not expect me to know everything about what your about to read below. I only learned what I know via trial and error and so much Google searching.

However Google searches on this matter turn up maybe 1 post and that really does not cover it in detail.

Anyways, I would like to create an IRC service that can connect from a link block in an IRCD
not a module for operserv to load (though I have a question on this as well!)

I've done countless IRC bots, but never anything to directly connect to the IRC server as a server. The main reason I wish to do this is because I can act on things like Connect/Joins ( I understand you can not modify the ircd from third-party applications, and only act on them) + it is giving me something to learn about and do anyway.

Yes I know I need to have the server protocols. I have a documentation on them + been reading them.

Question #1
How do I go about making it connect from the IRC servers link block as a service and not a client.

Question #2
Since this is going to be run as a service does that mean the service itself needs to be coded in C? (I think thats what anope is in right? as well as the unrealircd?) or could I do it in something like C#?

Adam

• Team
Re: Questions about making an IRC Service
« Reply #1 on: May 01, 2013, 09:58:27 AM »

The easiest way to do this is to write a module for Anope. Writing something from scratch is outside of the scope of this forum.

aeon

• Anope User
« Reply #2 on: May 02, 2013, 07:51:03 AM »

so basically its a useless cause...

Jens Voss

• Team
« Reply #3 on: May 02, 2013, 08:02:24 AM »