Anope IRC Services

Anope.org => Anope General => Topic started by: jhaye on August 07, 2013, 02:04:36 PM

Title: Anope services question
Post by: jhaye on August 07, 2013, 02:04:36 PM
Ok, say I have anope running on irc.myserver.com with services already connected to it
and irc.yourserver.com has services connect to their server.

I've changed my aliases to
alias NickServ { nick "NickServ2"; type services; };
alias ChanServ { target "ChanServ2"; type services; };
alias OperServ { target "OperServ2"; type services; };
alias HostServ { target "HostServ2"; type services; };
alias MemoServ { target "MemoServ2"; type services; };
alias BotServ { target "BotServ2"; type services; };

alias cs { target "ChanServ2"; type services; };
alias ns { nick "NickServ2"; type services; };
alias ms { target "MemoServ2"; type services; };
alias os { target "OperServ2"; type services; };
alias hs { target "HostServ2"; type services; };
alias bs { target "BotServ2"; type services; };

and theirs are default If I uline their services on my ircd and they uline my services on their ircd
wouldn't that technically allow both of us to continue running services?
Title: Re: Anope services question
Post by: Charles Kingsley on August 07, 2013, 02:11:34 PM
What if the same nick is registered on both sets of services with different passwords, who wins?

(as in, if both ircds have ulines for both services and someone logs on with a nick and authenticates to yourserver with the correct password, nickserv on myserver won't be liking that)
Title: Re: Anope services question
Post by: jhaye on August 07, 2013, 02:15:45 PM
Wouldn't they get 2 messages, one saying password recognized and one saying incorrect password?
Title: Re: Anope services question
Post by: Charles Kingsley on August 07, 2013, 02:18:25 PM
yes, and if the user on myserver has kill protection set they'd also get their nick changed too I think.

Tried it out?
Title: Re: Anope services question
Post by: jhaye on August 07, 2013, 02:19:59 PM
Not yet. I am planning to today at some point . I'm hoping this'll work lol
Title: Re: Anope services question
Post by: Jens Voss on August 07, 2013, 02:22:32 PM
Code: [Select]
-!- server_A
-!- |-services_A
-!- |-server_B
-!-   `-services_B

1. what chaz already said
2. if a nick is registered only on services_A, but the user connects to server_B, the /nickserv identify is only forwarded to services_B and he gets the message: "nick not registered" ... but he will be renamed to Guest because he did not identify to services_A in time.
3. More fun if someones registers the same channel on both services :-)
4. what happens if someone tries to make the same botserv bot on both services servers? (/bs bot add ... ). Anope 1.8 will shutdown (introducing user loop detected), I dont know what 1.9 will do.
Title: Re: Anope services question
Post by: jhaye on August 07, 2013, 02:25:04 PM
I was thinking that if someone creates a new channel after everythings set up that both services would be aware of it, as their //cs alias points to Chanserv and ours would point to Chanserv2

as for //bs bot add, wouldn't both services create the bot?

OHHH I would like to add one more question.

we use md5 encryption, they use SHA! is there a way to change my encryption to SHA1 without messing up the db? like if i set sha1 in the services conf now, will pre-registered users still have md5 encrypted passwords?
Title: Re: Anope services question
Post by: Jens Voss on August 07, 2013, 02:29:27 PM
Both services servers are aware that there is a channel with users. But the channel is only registered on the server where the user typed the "/chanserv register". If the user gives op to an user who is connected to server_B this user will be able to register this channel again (and add the original channel founder from services_A to the channel akick
list in services_B)

the second user could also activate secureops and the original user is deopped from chanserv2 each time he gets op from chanserv1 ;-)

Title: Re: Anope services question
Post by: jhaye on August 07, 2013, 02:35:27 PM
so the way i had it thought out is incorrect? It wouldn't send the message to both set of services?
for instance, if i typed //ns help from serverA i would not get a response from serverB?
Title: Re: Anope services question
Post by: jhaye on August 07, 2013, 02:47:15 PM
I'm also curious about this  we use md5 encryption, they use SHA1 is there a way to change my encryption to SHA1 without messing up the db? like if i set sha1 in the services conf now, will pre-existing registered users still have md5 encrypted passwords?
Title: Re: Anope services question
Post by: Charles Kingsley on August 07, 2013, 02:54:34 PM
Correct re messages, both sets won't get them.

You can use a module to convert passwords, look at modules.anope.org for enc_switchover

Title: Re: Anope services question
Post by: jhaye on August 07, 2013, 05:53:05 PM
ok, so after a little playing around this is actually working.
I had to dro channels on my side that were registered on their side and disable my chanserv and use theirs.

So far it's working pretty well. Only time will tell though.