Anope IRC Services

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: How do I use modules?  (Read 9528 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Ethan Carr

  • Anope User
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14
How do I use modules?
« on: February 20, 2011, 10:21:33 PM »

I noticed some modules aren't the .so file format, therefore, they can't be used directly. How can I compile them? I do have Visual Studio 2010 but when I compile it comes out as a .dll and I don't know where to go from there.
Logged

Jeremy

  • Anope User
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 24
    • SmartServ Hosting
Re: How do I use modules?
« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2011, 10:25:28 PM »

Depends on the operating system, .so is *nix and you compile them on the shell, Windows you compile on windows resulting in .dll. There is plenty of documentation I suggest reviewing it.
Logged
Jeremy Johnston
SmartServ Hosting
http://www.smart-serv.net/

Ethan Carr

  • Anope User
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14
Re: How do I use modules?
« Reply #2 on: February 20, 2011, 10:28:18 PM »

Depends on the operating system, .so is *nix and you compile them on the shell, Windows you compile on windows resulting in .dll. There is plenty of documentation I suggest reviewing it.
Yes, I understand this. I have linux in my VMWare. I'm wondering what to do with these .dll's
Logged

Jeremy

  • Anope User
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 24
    • SmartServ Hosting
Re: How do I use modules?
« Reply #3 on: February 20, 2011, 10:29:56 PM »

Nothing. .dll is only for windows, you need .c for *nix to compile them to .so
Logged
Jeremy Johnston
SmartServ Hosting
http://www.smart-serv.net/

Ethan Carr

  • Anope User
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14
Re: How do I use modules?
« Reply #4 on: February 20, 2011, 10:32:19 PM »

Nothing. .dll is only for windows, you need .c for *nix to compile them to .so
Then where do I put the .dll's?
Logged

Jeremy

  • Anope User
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 24
    • SmartServ Hosting
Re: How do I use modules?
« Reply #5 on: February 20, 2011, 10:33:13 PM »

Nowhere, .dll is windows ONLY, maybe you should really take the time and reread my last post
Logged
Jeremy Johnston
SmartServ Hosting
http://www.smart-serv.net/

Ethan Carr

  • Anope User
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14
Re: How do I use modules?
« Reply #6 on: February 20, 2011, 10:36:56 PM »

Hold on, I don't understand you. Currently I am using Windows. I have .dll files to use. Just tell me what directory I put them so that OperServ can load them.
Logged

katsklaw

  • Supporter
  • Anope User
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 537
Re: How do I use modules?
« Reply #7 on: February 20, 2011, 11:24:42 PM »

Hold on, I don't understand you. Currently I am using Windows. I have .dll files to use. Just tell me what directory I put them so that OperServ can load them.

It's you that needs to hold on. You're so confused you don't even know what you are asking. You said you had Linux in a VM, if you are running Anope there, then you don't use the .dll's. If you are running Anope on windows, then there is no point in mentioning the Linux vm. They are 2 completely separate OS's.

Linux: Read docs/MODULES
Windows: Read http://wiki.anope.org/index.php/Windows:Modules

Lastly, it does you no good to "just tell you" where to put them. You learn nothing from that. Stop being lazy and read the documentation or you can just put Anope and your modules in the recycle bin.
Logged

Charles Kingsley

  • Contributor
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1405
Re: How do I use modules?
« Reply #8 on: February 21, 2011, 07:51:06 AM »

Lastly, it does you no good to "just tell you" where to put them. You learn nothing from that. Stop being lazy and read the documentation or you can just put Anope and your modules in the recycle bin.

If only this forum had a reputation system I'd be +repping that.
Logged

Ethan Carr

  • Anope User
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14
Re: How do I use modules?
« Reply #9 on: February 21, 2011, 03:19:42 PM »

Stop being lazy and read the documentation or you can just put Anope and your modules in the recycle bin.
If I'm lazy, how come I'm a C Programmer and worked a TON on this: http://powdertoy.co.uk/ ?
Don't accuse me.
Next off, is there a guide to program your own?
Logged

Jan Milants

  • Team
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 1372
Re: How do I use modules?
« Reply #10 on: February 21, 2011, 05:16:34 PM »

Yes, I understand this. I have linux in my VMWare. I'm wondering what to do with these .dll's
Then where do I put the .dll's?
Hold on, I don't understand you. Currently I am using Windows. I have .dll files to use. Just tell me what directory I put them so that OperServ can load them.
All 3 of those, especially when combined and taking into consideration that you were told 3 times .dll's are windows only and .so's are linux only, warrant being accused of laziness.. I'd even say you didn't even bother to properly read the answer even though it was only one post up every single time.
Then again, a lot of the people asking for support here, and especially on IRC are lazy and skipped the documentation step.. the difference being most don't pretend to have read it.

If I'm lazy, how come I'm a C Programmer and worked a TON on this: http://powdertoy.co.uk/
programmers are especially lazy, I being one have no problem admitting that..
For all I care you could be writing windows 8 on your own overnight, if you don't read the docs I write for me 200 line app, I will still call you lazy
That said, I would be much more concerned with the fact that you claim to be a C programmer yet do not seem to realize a very basic difference between compiling C code for *nix and windows: the first generally using .so's and the second .dll's...

As for a guide to write modules, there is a wee bit of documentation regarding using the anope API on the wiki ( http://wiki.anope.org/index.php/Tutorials ) though that just covers the very basics. For more detailed stuff there s the doxy ( http://anope.org/doxy/ ) but the best way to get familiar with the API is probably looking at the existing modules, both core and 3rd party.. it s all pretty straightforward. :)
« Last Edit: February 21, 2011, 05:23:23 PM by Jan Milants »
Logged
If you like me donate coins to 1FBmZVT4J8WAUMHKqpWhgNVj3XXnRN1cCk :)

katsklaw

  • Supporter
  • Anope User
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 537
Re: How do I use modules?
« Reply #11 on: February 21, 2011, 06:25:27 PM »

If I'm lazy, how come I'm a C Programmer and worked a TON on this: http://powdertoy.co.uk/ ?
Don't accuse me.
Next off, is there a guide to program your own?

#include < gratitude.h>

1> programmers are lazy. Believe me, I know several.
2> you can't be all that good of a coder if you are confused about where to put .dlls on Linux.
3> "just tell me" is simply saying. "I'd rather you solve the problem for me so i don't have to read".
4> YOU are the one that wants the answers, I already have the answers .. why? because I can read.
5> There is a module guide on the wiki. I suggest you read that too.

free(your_attitude)

return 0
« Last Edit: February 21, 2011, 06:29:05 PM by katsklaw »
Logged

Ethan Carr

  • Anope User
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14
Re: How do I use modules?
« Reply #12 on: February 24, 2011, 07:52:27 PM »

#include < gratitude.h>

1> programmers are lazy. Believe me, I know several.
2> you can't be all that good of a coder if you are confused about where to put .dlls on Linux.
3> "just tell me" is simply saying. "I'd rather you solve the problem for me so i don't have to read".
4> YOU are the one that wants the answers, I already have the answers .. why? because I can read.
5> There is a module guide on the wiki. I suggest you read that too.

free(your_attitude)

return 0
I didn't need rage. But thank you. I figured it out.
By the way, what part of the code tells the *Serv in question where to list it (e.g. when you type /msg ChanServ help)?
Logged

katsklaw

  • Supporter
  • Anope User
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 537
Re: How do I use modules?
« Reply #13 on: February 24, 2011, 09:30:00 PM »

There is no rage there.

How to hook into help is covered in "The Command" section of both 1.8 and 1.9 module howto's
« Last Edit: February 24, 2011, 09:36:59 PM by katsklaw »
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up