Anope IRC Services

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Best Linux distribution for (Unreal)IRCd + Anope Services?  (Read 19046 times)

Plexi/Dennis

• Anope User
Best Linux distribution for (Unreal)IRCd + Anope Services?
« on: July 24, 2011, 04:43:00 PM »

Hey there fellow IRC users! :)

As I haven't been able to get the email part of Anope working on Windows 7 (even after posting the problem in here (I'm not complaining about it.)) I have thought about trying a Linux distribution on an old laptop I hardly use any longer.

But as I have never tried Linux before I know nothing about it (other than there are several distributions) and therefore also no nothing about what would be the best distribution for running (as the subject says) UnrealIRD + Anope Service pack - AND with compatibility for the sendmail (or other) email component.

Also I would like the distribution to be as much Windows like as possible as I have no (or very little) experience into DOS/commandprompt work...

Thanks in advance for all your inputs. ;)

LEthaLity

• Team
    • LEthaLity
Re: Best Linux distribution for (Unreal)IRCd + Anope Services?
« Reply #1 on: July 24, 2011, 04:48:55 PM »

Most people would agree that debian is the best linux distro, centos is another but can be temperamental as far as certain packages go.
As far as a laptop/desktop go, look at ubuntu or a slightly different flavour of it, Kubuntu. these have nice gui's and most windows users will find their way around ok.

Also I would like the distribution to be as much Windows like as possible as I have no (or very little) experience into DOS/commandprompt work
You really don't have much chance of that with any *nix distro, you only need a few commands when installing most irc packages anyway eg. Config, configure, make, make install.

« Last Edit: July 24, 2011, 04:58:37 PM by LEthaLity »

VisioN

• Contributor