Anope IRC Services

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Let users keep their channels if they change their nickgroup  (Read 4104 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Obi_Wan

  • Guest

I think it would be better that if someone changes his nickgroup the channels shouldn't be deleted or at least given to the cfounder because if you group your nick it isn't your intention to delete all your channels.
Logged

Jan Milants

  • Team
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 1372
(No subject)
« Reply #1 on: June 05, 2008, 10:33:13 AM »

changing nickgroups is just a facade.. what really happens is that nick is dropped and added to the new nick. So if that nick was the last in its group, all its settings will be dumped...
it doesn't actually "merge" the 2 nicks..

merging their settings would be impossible since would anope chose which settings to retain if there are conflicts.. channel founder on the other hand would probably better be transferred... i second this request.

actually when the nick is dropped the core automatically proceeds to delete the channel, so a module could automatically transfer foundership before the merging..

[Edited on 5-6-2008 by Viper]
Logged
If you like me donate coins to 1FBmZVT4J8WAUMHKqpWhgNVj3XXnRN1cCk :)

Obi_Wan

  • Guest
(No subject)
« Reply #2 on: June 05, 2008, 10:48:37 AM »

Or maybe a procedure can be written to make a real groupchange? I don't know how difficult that would be.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up