Anope IRC Services

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: NickServ REGNICK command  (Read 6295 times)

veteran

• Anope User
NickServ REGNICK command
« on: January 06, 2009, 11:35:50 PM »

Hi there,
I wanted to request a module implementing a NickServ 'REGNICK' command which would enable Service Admins to add users to the database, e.g. '/msg NickServ REGNICK username email password', which would be an useful feature for networks which don't want to allow public registrations yet still have to add users manually quite often, and, more important, would provide a solution for networks which want to propagate registrations on their website to NickServ (via some bot, php/eggdrop/whatever).
As long as the MySQL support is rather experimental this is the only solution I came up with, and I don't see a way accomplish it without such a module. Sadly, I am not a very proficient C++ coder, otherwise I would try it myself.

Charles Kingsley

• Contributor
Re: NickServ REGNICK command
« Reply #1 on: January 07, 2009, 06:23:25 AM »

Something similar here?

veteran

• Anope User
« Reply #2 on: January 07, 2009, 03:30:53 PM »

You are right, it is possible to accomplish the basic task I wrote about with the module you named.
My solution would be cleaner, though, because the registration bot would not be required to constantly switch nicknames for every registration (and back) and no check for unregistered, but taken nicks (which in this case would have to be SVSNICKed to something guest-like and noticed) would be necessary.